Pleasing God

Rare Jewel of Christian ContentmentJeremiah Burroughs:

“When [the saints] perform actions to God, then the soul says: ‘Oh! That I could do what pleases God!’ When they come to suffer any cross: ‘Oh, that what God does might please me!’ I labor to do what pleases God, and I labor that what God does shall please me: here is a Christian indeed, who shall endeavor both these. It is but one side of a Christian to endeavor to do what pleases God; you must as well endeavor to be pleased with what God does, and so you will come to be a complete Christian when you can do both, and that is the first thing in the excellence of this grace of contentment.” (The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment)

One Response

  1. [...]  http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/pleasing-god-2/ [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

